The Gauntt House, circa 1808, was moved to our museum complex area in 1972 from its original location on College Street, across from the Post Office.  It was given to the Newberry County Historical Society in 1970 by the Roy Dominick family with the stipulation that it would be moved from its original site.  It was restored by the Historical Society in 1975. 

Judging from construction techniques and materials, we believe that the house
was built by Jacob Gauntt around 1808-1810.  However there are some, including Gauntt descendants, who believe that the house may have been built somewhat earlier, even before the American Revolution.

Jacob Gauntt’s father, Israel, came to Newberry around 1765 and settled on 350 acres of land.  Being a loyal Quaker, he did not fight in the American Revolution, but did furnish supplies to the patriots.  One of “Bloody Bill” Cunningham’s Tory gang, named Hubbs, with two cohorts set out to rob Israel.  Hubbs tricked Israel’s wife, Hanna to gain entry into the house. When he pointed his pistol at Israel, the old man’s daughter also named Hanna, threw up the weapon and wrestled Hubbs to the floor where she held him until Israel disabled him with blows to the head.  Some believe that this is the same house where that incident took place.

The Gauntt House is a small 18th-19th century vernacular style dwelling that is two stories high, with a large double shouldered Williamsburg type chimney at one end.  There is a unique doorway leading directly from the front porch to the stairs leading to the second floor.  The second floor is a single long room with a fireplace at one end. There is interior wainscoting around the two rooms downstairs.  Later additions were removed before the house was moved to its present location.  The house is furnished with interesting furnishings from period to somewhat later vintage.

The Gauntt House is located at 1503 Nance Street, behind the Public Safety Complex. 
The drive is located off Cornelia Street.